• Formats: Cassette Tape, Digital
  • Price: $5.00
  • Artist: Chip Chillin'
  • Release Date: February 5, 2014
  • Catalog ID: PAR043

Get this release:

Share this release:

← Return to catalog

Chip Chillin' Vol. 1 / Cassette Tape, Digital / PAR043

Chip Chillin'

Sometimes the soul needs a good jam session to break free of the monotony of your daily life. Chip Chillin’ is about kickin’ loose, grabbin’ yr favorite flav of crispy, and seeing what happens. In the fall of 2013, avant-pop maestro, Zach Phillips, was visiting Chicago on business/pleasure and in lieu of playing a show, Zach attended a show where a bunch of us planned a jam / recording session for the following day. That bunch of six included the freaks behind labels such as Lillerne Tapes, Solid Melts, Teen River, Lake Paradise, OSR Tapes, & Pretty All Right.

This tape finds the six exploratory players trying to find some common ground, and it seems to happen in a variety of ways. Everything from dissonant interwoven guitar squeals, faux avant rock a la Red Krayola, funky Rhodes, synth pop, no input waves, and some occasional fun vocal bits blend together in a chaotic mess. Cut down from hours of jams, Roland Potions mixed and arranged a 45 minute tape that tries to balance the output from each of these unique musical brains. Although it is hard to always determine who is doing what, each number on Chip Chillin’ Vol. 1 has a groove and space of its own.

personnel: jake acosta, gabe holcombe, drew m gibson, tom owens, zach phillips, kyle drouin